Canadian Citation Committee
Français Français Write us

The Canadian Citation Committee is an ad hoc group formed to support the standardization efforts of the Judges Technology Advisory Committee (JTAC) of the Canadian Judicial Council (CJC). The members volunteer their time to produce useful standards for the Canadian legal community.

This Website, hosted by LexUM, presents the CCC standards to the legal community and provides various documentary resources to make their implementation easier.

Partners and Sponsors

The present works of the CCC are made possible through the financial support of the following organizations:

Current works of the Committee

On May 7 2009, the Canadian Judicial Council approved a new CCC standard entitled The Preparation, Citation and Distribution of Canadian Decisions, which consolidates and supersedes the 3 previous CCC standards listed below.

Uniform Case Naming Guidelines (2006 - superseded)
The Canadian Guide to the Uniform Preparation of Judgments (2002 - superseded)
The Neutral Citation Standard for Case Law (1999 - superseded)
Members of the Committee
Michael Cowle Canada Law Book
Louise Hamel Judges' Library, Ontario Courts
Jennifer Jordan Judges Computer Advisory Committee, Canadian Judicial Council;
Appeal Court of British Columbia
Rick Leech Court Services, Alberta Justice
Michèle Lesage Société québécoise d'information juridique (SOQUIJ)
Grace Mackness Carswell / Thomson
Frédéric Pelletier LexUM
Alisa Posesorski Irwin Law
Daniel Poulin Judges Computer Advisory Committee, Canadian judicial Council;
Faculté de droit, Université de Montréal
Ruth Rintoul Law Publishing Consultant
Elizabeth M.A. Turgeon Maritime Law Book
Anne L. Van Iderstine Judges' Library, Nova Scotia Department of Justice

Ruth Rintoul and Frédéric Pelletier are the coordinators of the Committee.
Useful links and documents
Foreign organizations performing similar works
Other or previous Canadian legal documentation standards
Foreign papers on legal documentation standards
Canadian judicial
Links below point to what information is currently available on the Web about each Canadian jurisdiction's court system. Links point to departments of Justice when no description of the court system is available.
Former members
Suzan Baer Law Society of Saskatchewan Libraries
Diane Bourque Federation of Law Societies of Canada
Daniel Boyer Faculty of Law, McGill University
Johanne Carré Société québécoise d'information juridique (SOQUIJ)
Maria Cece Ontario Court of Appeal
Martin Felsky Judges Computer Advisory Committee, Canadian Judicial Council;
Commonwealth Legal Inc.
Terry Hemingway Lexis Nexis Canada
Guy Huard LexUM, Centre de recherche en droit public (CRDP), Université de Montréal (1997-1998)
Lucie Laguë CCH Canadian
Chantal Lamarre Carswell / Les Éditions Yvon Blais
Denis Le May Canadian Association of Law Libraries (CALL / ACBD)
Diane Lutes Law Society of New Brunswick
Jane McDonald Carswell / Thomson
Denis Marshall Canadian Association of Law Libraries
Bruno Ménard LexUM, Centre de recherche en droit public (CRDP), Université de Montréal
Micheline Montpetit Société québécoise d'information juridique (SOQUIJ)
René-Luc Morin Irosoft
Carolle Piché-burton Société québécoise d'information juridique (SOQUIJ)

[Home]  [Français]

For any request or comment please write us at:

Copyright © 2006-2010 Comité canadien de la référence